Welcome to the North Woods District , NWSC


North Woods Pinewood Derby

Saturday, April 12

St Peter Lutheran Church ~ 111 W Olive, Arlington Heights

   A youth participant registered in RANK RACING representing their Cub Scout Pack may either the races OR the design contest. NO SCOUT MAY ENTER BOTH EVENTS.

NEW this YEAR is the “Open Racing” competition inviting ALL the Cub Scouts from throughout North Woods to come and challenge each other with their cars.  This is a “Fun” racing event for youth.

Complete details and registration packet available at http://nwsc.doubleknot.com/event/1533200


     8:00am Check In and Weigh In

     9:00am  Race Begins!




for the North Woods Spring Camporee

…at the Illinois Railway Museum in Union, IL, on April 4-6.

Head over to Event Registration at NWSC Doubleknot to get your tickets for an “Weekend at The Railyard”,
a true ‘iron rail – trail’ extravaganza!

The “The North Woods Spring Camporee Train Crew” leadership includes Brian Yarger and Roger Broms from Troop 36; Ken Westlake from Troop 235; Diane Neumann from Adventure Crew 37 and Mike Ellis from North Woods District Activities.

Complete details for this event are available at



North Woods District Awards

Individual Leader Awards

2013 Outstanding Den Leaders
Harlan Heiber – Pack 130
Megan Bauer – Pack 161
David Strzynski – Pack 161

2013 Outstanding Webleos Leaders
Tina Schroeder – Pack 119
Janey Paglini – Pack 119
Annmarie Jacobs-Drozd – Pack 161

 2013 Outstanding Assistant Cubmaster
Barry Carlson – Pack 130

2013 Outstanding Assistant Scoutmasters
George Ruppert – Troop 32
Alan (Rod) Gerling – Troop 401
Mike Anaszewicz – Troop 401

2013 Top Side Kicks
John Franczyk – Pack 161
Robert Thoenen – Troop 32
Kathy Deloia – Troop 140
Dave Hart – Troop 401
Mary Sabol – Crew 37

2013 Special Recognition
John Stapleton – Pack 130
Mark Spiess – Troop 32
Steve Crumbaugh – Troop 270
Patrick Gasey – Troop 401
Valerie Duenser – Troop 468
Troop 65, Troop 138, and Troop 149 – Spring Camporee
Troop 140 – Fall Camporee

Unit Awards

Top Packs
Pack 119 and Pack 130

Most Improved Pack
Pack 169

Outstanding Cubmaster
Brian Ferguson – Pack 129
Tom Seputis – Pack 161

Top Troop
Troop 401

Most Improved Troop
Troop 468

Top Scoutmaster
Tom Schwenbeck – Troop 32
Brian Yarger – Troop 36

Top Crew
Crew 37

Most Improved Crew
Crew 140

Outstanding Crew Advisor
Anne Kritzmire – Crew 140

District Chairman’s Award

Jack Day

District Commissioner’s Award

Mary Sabol
Sam Jung
Ken Westlake
Alan Medsker

Tall Pines

Diane Neumann – Crew 37
Ken Westlake – Troop 235
Chris Sprague – Troop 401
Jim Maurer – Troop 468
Mark Kiser – District Committee Member at Large

District Award of Merit

Ron Zaremba – Troop 401
Nancy Paczosa – District Popcorn Kernel
Christine Arango


Coming Up

Friday-Sunday, April 4-6

Spring Camporee

Tuesday, April 7

OA Chapter Meeting

Saturday, April 12

North Woods Pinewood Derby

Tuesday, May 6

District Commissioner Meeting
District Committee Meeting

Tuesday, May 13

OA Chapter Meeting

Council Web Site

Contact Us